Home Hardware Watch AMD's 'Where Gaming Begins' Zen 3/Ryzen 5000 announcement right here at...

Watch AMD’s ‘Where Gaming Begins’ Zen 3/Ryzen 5000 announcement right here at 9 AM PT

Highly anticipated: After what’s felt like a never-ending wait, AMD is finally unveiling its Zen 3 architecture and the next-generation Ryzen ‘Vermeer’ desktop CPUs later today. You can watch the “Where Gaming Begins” livestream right here, starting at 9 AM PT/ 11 AM CT / 12 PM ET / 5 PM BST.

After months of assuming the new Ryzen desktop CPUs would use the 4000-series moniker, AMD has confirmed recent reports that they will use the 5000-series name, thereby avoiding any confusion with the Zen 2-based Ryzen 4000 mobile processors.

Intel has dominated the CPU industry for years. Many will remember when AMD was considered the inferior choice, especially when it came to gaming, but that started to change with the launch of its Zen architecture—Ryzen processors now account for over 25 percent of CPUs among Steam users, and their many cores combined with excellent price vs. performance results have seen AMD eat away at Intel’s market share.

While Intel still leads when it comes to gaming performance, a recent leak suggests there’ll be a Ryzen 7 5800X that could outperform team blue’s flagship Core i9-10900K. Considering the name of AMD’s event, and CEO Lisa Su’s declaration that “it’s going to be an exciting fall for gamers,” the company appears to be aiming at a specific group.

We’re expecting a number of upgrades in Zen 3, the most significant being the increase to instructions per clock (IPC). There’s also a clock speed boost that could reach 4.9 GHz and numerous other improvements that come from the new architecture. The chips are built on TSMC’s N7P or N7+ process, feature 32+ MB of unified cache, and use a Multi-Chip Module (MCM) design.

Most Popular

Ethical AI isn’t the same as trustworthy AI, and that matters

Artificial intelligence (AI) solutions are facing increased scrutiny due to their aptitude for amplifying both good and bad decisions. More specifically, for their propensity...

A virtual company-wide hackathon is worth the investment

At our annual company retreat, we usually run a hackathon for our dev team. But this year (at our virtual retreat), we decided to...

Kamua’s AI-powered editor helps marketers embrace vertical video

A new AI-powered video-editing platform is preparing for launch, designed to help businesses, marketers, and creators automatically transform landscape-shot videos into a vertical format...

Cloud and AI: The biggest trends in personal and SMB video surveillance

Presented by SpotCam The global pandemic has put a spotlight on personal safety and security, so it’s unsurprising that the video surveillance market is surging...

Recent Comments